A Typical Hospital's Structure

health and social care training is important to ensure that the patients get the needed amount of care at all times. Hospitals are important as they help provide better health care to the community. For a hospital to run smoothly, it must have the needed equipment and facilities. Also, the hospital must have enough staff.

Read more about health and social care training from specialist training providers.

1. Accidents And Emergency

This area is also called the casualty department. healthcare training requires a patient brought by an ambulance to be brought in this wing first. This is the area they take those who have arrived in an emergency or an ambulance.

2. Admission

This is the area where a patient provides all their personal information before seeing the doctor or taken to the ward. If the patient is very ill, a family member will provide the needed information.

3. Anaesthetics

If you are scheduled for an operation, in a lot of pain or hysterical, you might be given anaesthetic. This allows the doctor to handle you easily. Anaesthesia reduces or renders a loss of feeling.

4. Breast Screening

Breast cancer has been a major crisis in the world, and this calls for special attention to it. A breast screening area is used to screen the patients for any symptoms of breast cancer. This area is usually linked to the X-ray and radiology department.

5. Burn unit

This area is used to treat and hold patients with burn and nursing burn injuries. If you are suffering a severe burn, this is the area you will be held.

6. Cardiology

Most people have heard of the cardiology wind. This area is used to hold patients with heart conditions and circulation problem. If you suffer a heart attack or have any heart-related problems, this is the area you will be held for immediate medical attention.

7. Chaplaincy

This area is used to promote the spiritual well-being and comfort of the staff, patients and relatives. When a friend or family member is not feeling well, people find comfort in a higher spiritual being.

8. Intensive Care Unit

This unit is used to hold the most serious patients. You are not allowed to get in and out of the ICU when visiting without supervision.

9. Discharge lounge

This area is for patients who don't need to be admitted to hospital. They stay in this area as they are waiting to see the doctor. This area has entertainment activities to keep the patients busy. There are magazines, TV's, radio, books, newspapers and puzzle games.

10. General surgery

This is the area where most surgical procedures are done. If you have a surgery emergency, this is the area you are taken to. They cover a wide range of surgery and all procedures on the patients.

11. Gynaecology

In this wing, the gynaecologist investigates and treats any problem that is related to female reproductive organs or urinary tract. They treat and investigate problems like endometriosis, incontinence and infertility.

12. Haematology

This unit deals with any diseases related to the blood. They carry a lot of lab work before they diagnose you with any disease.

13. Maternity Unit

This unit is used by an expectant mother and mothers. They provide prenatal and antenatal cared to mothers. Also, they have postnatal support to help new mothers cope with having children. Additionally, they deliver newborn babies and take care of them.


Healthcare training is needed to ensure that the patients receive the needed care. This reduces cases of neglect in the hospital. Also, it ensures that the relatives of the patient are at ease, leaving their family member in the hands of the hospital staff.